0 Menu

FUTURE SILENCE :: Future Silence 12" EP


Future Silence is the songwriting duo of longtime Chicago musicians Kirk McMahon (Slow Thrills) and Shannon Roberts (STAR, Modern Tyranny). Joined by Rosie Schubert (Sabertooth Rodeo, Slow Thrills) on drums. The self-titled EP was recorded by Balthazar de Ley (Martha’s Music, Balthazar Audio Systems) in Chicago.

Cinematic songs untied to any one genre – the classically beautiful pop ode to Detroit/Chicago architecture flows seamlessly into a dirty garage rock anthem about a city unraveling under the unimpressed gaze of aliens.

Influences include Ennio Morricone, Kathleen Hanna, Velvet Underground, Radiohead, David Lynch, The Shadows, Margo Guryan, Outrageous Cherry, Yoko Ono, Bob Dylan, The Raincoats, Depeche Mode, loss, love and the towering city of Chicago.

1. Kansas Plains
2. Ealing Broadway
3. The Near Miss
4. Aliens
5. All Is Numbers

Recorded by Balthazar de Ley. Mixed by Kirk McMahon and Theodore Beck. All songs written by McMahon/Roberts. Cover painting by Matt Geer.